amazon

Suvudu

Amazon Publishing’s New Comic Book Imprint to Feature George R.R. Martin, Others


MEATHOUSE-MAN_612x612Good news for comic book readers, and for fans of “The American Tolkien”, George. R. R. Martin! Amazon Publishing has launched a new comic book imprint titled Jet City Comics, and among the first few titles that they’re set to put out are original comics from Martin, plus others like Hugh Howey and Neal Stephenson.

Read More

SF & Fantasy

Poll: Would You Buy Sanctioned Fan Fiction?


icon-amazonLast week, Amazon announced Kindle Worlds, a platform for fan fiction.

Is that a good thing? A bad thing? Does it matter as long as the author condones it? Should readers care? Let’s talk about it!

Read More

SF & Fantasy

Naomi Novik on Amazon’s Fan Fiction Move


novik-bloodSeveral days ago, Amazon announced a controversial new platform for Fan Fiction.

Today, bestselling author Naomi Novik tackled the issue on the CBC Radio show Q. Make the jump to listen to that interview!

Read More

SF & Fantasy

Get a Double-Dose of George R.R. Martin!


Get a Double-Dose of George R.R. Martin!

One of my very favorite contemporary fantasy authors is getting a lot of coverage online today. Both Amazon’s Omnivoracious blog and Barnes & Noble’s Nook blog are featuring great pieces about A Song of Ice and Fire author George R.R. Martin.
Over at the Nook blog, author Diana Gabaldon (no slouch, herself!) has written five things [...]

Read More

Paranormal

Poll: Where Do You Buy Your Books?


printing-press-inventionThe book had its revolution when Johannes Gutenberg created the printing press.

A few years ago, Amazon re-revolutionized the book industry by releasing the first Kindle eReader.

There’s almost six hundred years between the two, time that has led to various ways to buy books. What is your method of choice and why?

Read More

SF & Fantasy

Is Amazon’s Star Review System Seriously Flawed?


Like most online booksellers, Amazon gives their customers the ability to write reviews. This is a good thing. People often like getting feedback from people who are not biased (the biased being publishers, authors, agents, etc.) and its that feedback that helps someone decide whether or not to buy the book.

But I’m not pleased how people use the star-rating system as a means to belittle everything excerpt the product. And here’s why.

Read More

Suvudu

Walter Mosley (et al) recommends China Mieville’s The City & The City


It’s been an incredible year for China Miéville’s latest novel, The City & The City. As long time readers of Suvudu know, it was a book that we were really excited about prior to its publication. I can remember my first experience with it. It was several months prior to the publication date and I [...]

Read More

Suvudu

Espresso Book, Coming Right Up!


Order a latte at your favorite coffee house, it comes right up.
Try to order an out of print book at your local bookstore, it might be coming up faster than you think!
I live in Seattle. It is easily one of the largest reader cities in the world. The gloom and gray of our [...]

Read More

Ad

Del Rey Spectra 50 Page Fridays