george r. r. martin

Suvudu

Happy Birthday, Gardner Dozois!


Happy Birthday, Gardner Dozois!

We at suvudu.com wish a very happy birthday to science fiction/fantasy editor Gardner Dozois. The celebrated editor, anthologist, and author is 66 years-old today.
Dozois is something of a living legend in the world of science fiction publishing: He won the Hugo Award for Best Editor 15 times during his 20 year run as editor for [...]

Read More

Suvudu

Marvel Comics Unveils Another Fan Letter From A Young George R.R. Martin


Those of you who have had the pleasure of meeting A Song of Ice and Fire author George R.R. Martin known that he’s an incredibly down-to-Earth guy, especially for a writer regularly described as “America’s Tolkien”. He hasn’t forgotten his roots, and those roots are buried deep in fan culture, as a 1961 fan letter [...]

Read More

SF & Fantasy

Looking Through the Palantir: June 17th


Darth Internous continues his weekly round-up of SFF news with Looking Through the Palantir. So cozy on up to your favorite seeing-stone and check out this week’s divinations.

Read More

SF & Fantasy

In Stores: ROGUES edited by George R. R. Martin & Gardner Dozois


martin-rogues-greenRogues edited by George R. R. Martin & Gardner Dozois is in fine bookstores today!

Better go get your copy! Rothfuss. Flynn. Martin. Abercrombie. Gaiman. What’s not to love?!

Read More

SF & Fantasy

Poll: When Did You Start Reading George R. R. Martin?


martin-gameofthronesmmA Friday poll!

When did you start reading George R. R. Martin? Back before A Game of Thrones? Or did HBO help your initiation? Vote!

Read More

Suvudu

Want To Take A Helicopter Ride To A Wolf Sanctuary With George R.R. Martin?


imageThe Wolf in the North may be dead, but now there’s an opportunity for fans of George R.R. Martin’s A Song of Ice and Fire saga to save some wolves of the four-legged kind.

Read More

SF & Fantasy

At HBO: Margaret Atwood’s ORYX & CRAKE


atwood-oryxOryx & Crake by Margaret Atwood is coming to HBO!

That’s news all by itself. Atwood is a literary powerhouse, one of my favorite writers. Director Darren Aronofsky agrees! Learn more about HBO’s future show!

Read More

SF & Fantasy

Suvudu Likes: 5/17/14


martin-rogues-greenThe internet(s) gives and gives and gives.

There are some great sci-fi/fantasy bloggers out there, fans who are devoting a lot of time and energy into supporting authors and their readers. Variety is the spice of life, as they say, and with the menagerie of unique and very different individuals out there contributing, it produces a whole that is better than its parts.

Read More

SF & Fantasy

Joe Abercrombie Reads From His ROGUES Story


martin-rogues-greenAuthor Joe Abercrombie contributed the opening story to the forthcoming anthology Rogues edited by George R. R. Martin & Gardner Dozois!

To celebrate the book’s release on June 17th, Joe read an excerpt from his story! Make the jump to listen and learn more!

Read More

Suvudu

George R.R. Martin’s Love for Ancient Word Processing Program WordStar Explained


George R.R. Martin’s Love for Ancient Word Processing Program WordStar Explained

A lot of people would probably love to write like George R.R. Martin. if you’re one of them, here’s your first tip: Use word processor program WordStar 4.0. But don’t bother looking for it at the app store or your local Best Buy: This program is for the DOS operating system.
Martin does have another, up [...]

Read More

Ad

Del Rey Spectra 50 Page Fridays