Tor

Suvudu

Take Five With Melanie Rawn, Author, ‘Thornlost’


9780765328786_p0_v4_s260x420Melanie Rawn is the contributor for this week’s Take Five, a regular series where we ask authors and editors to share five facts about their latest books. Rawn is the author of Thornlost, book three of the Glass Thorns series:

Read More

Suvudu

‘Dangerous Women’ Anthology to Feature New Westeros Novella from George R.R. Martin


Dangerous WomenGreat news for fans of George R.R. Martin’s ‘A Song of Ice and Fire’!

Read More

Suvudu

What’s Weird, Jeff VanderMeer?


TheWeirdFriends Jeff and Ann VanderMeer’s new anthology From Lovecraft to Borges to Gaiman, a century of intrepid literary experimentation has created a corpus of dark and strange stories that transcend all known genre boundaries. Together these stories form The Weird, and its practitioners include some of the greatest names in twentieth and twenty-first century literature.

Read More

Suvudu

Guest Essay: Edward Lazellari: ‘Being the Anti-Harry Potter is a Good Thing in Adult Fiction’


awakeningsA young boy lives in a hostile home environment with uncaring step parents, but unbeknownst to himself, is actually a pivotal figure in a magical universe that’s waiting to reclaim him. Sound familiar? No, it’s not Harry Potter… rather it’s Daniel Hauer, the MacGuffin in the ensemble cast in Awakenings. That’s where the similarities end.

Read More

SF & Fantasy

Read an Excerpt from Vernor Vinge’s ‘A Fire Upon the Deep’ Sequel, ‘Children of the Sky’


childre-of-the-sky-coverOur friends at Tor.com have uploaded an excerpt from Vernor Vinge’s new novel Children of the Sky, a sequel to his Hugo Award-winning 1991 novel A Fire Upon the Deep.

Read More

Suvudu

Take Five with J.A. Pitts, Author, “Honeyed Words”


HONEYED WORDSJ.A. Pitts is the contributor for this week’s Take Five, a regular series where we ask authors and editors to share five facts about their latest books. Pitts is the author of Honeyed Words, the sequel to 2010’s Black Blade Blues. Honeyed Words will be available to purchase in July 2011.

Read More

Suvudu

Take Five with Peter Orullian, Author, “The Unremembered”


Peter Orullian is the contributor for this week’s Take Five, a regular series where we ask authors and editors to share five facts about their latest books. Orullian is the author of The Unremembered, available for purchase now. You can also read an excerpt here!
Rumors have beset the eastlands of Aeshau Vaal. One ruler, to [...]

Read More

Suvudu

Booked! Frederik Pohl on L. Sprague de Camp’s “Lest Darkness Fall”


Welcome to Booked!, a feature where we ask author to share their favorite books with our readers. Contributing today is the legendary science fiction author Frederik Pohl, the author of scores of novels, short stories and even poems, including his most recent, All the Lives He Led. Here, Pohl writes about L. Sprague de Camp’s [...]

Read More

Suvudu

Interview with Kevin J. Anderson and Brian Herbert, Authors, “Hellhole”


Kevin J. Anderson and Brian Herbert are the authors of Hellhole, a new science fiction novel of planetary danger, hardship and an ancient alien legacy. Hellhole goes on sale next Tuesday.
Naming a planet Hellhole is a pretty bold move. Does it really live up to the name? How bad can it be?
Technically, it’s named [...]

Read More

Suvudu

Tor Reissues, You Must Buy – “Songs of the Dying Earth: Stories in Honor of Jack Vance”


Jack Vance’s much beloved Dying Earth stories depicted the last days of an world where the boundaries between magic and science had become blurred and quick-tongued rogues conspired for what decadent pleasures they can gain under the light of a fading sun. Although he wrote only four short novellas set in the world of the [...]

Read More

Ad

Del Rey Spectra 50 Page Fridays